Community Action Advisory Board

The Community Action Advisory Board is a federally mandated tripartite board comprised of 15 members as follows: • (5) Representatives of the Poor • (5) Representatives of Organizations • (5) Elected Officials to include 4 City Council Members appointed by the Mayor, and 1 County Commissioner appointed by the County Judge. The City of San Antonio, Department of Human Services (DHS) is the designated Community Action Agency and the Community Services Block Grant eligible entity for Bexar County. DHS has operated the Community Action Program (CAP) since 1979. The Community Action Advisory Board acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council on the operation of the Community Action Program, and oversees the extent and quality of services to the poor. The Community Action Advisory Board Meetings are held quarterly on the first Wednesday of the month at 5:30 PM, not less than five (5) times a year or more frequently as determine by the Department of Human Services. Please call (210) 207-4790 for location. For more information, please visit

Liaison: Deborah Vasquez - (210) 207-4647

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Councilmember DIEGO A. BERNALMayoral07/22/201405/31/2015
Ms. SHIRLEY GONZALESMayoral10/03/201305/31/2015
Mr. RAY LOPEZMayoral10/03/201305/31/2015
Ms. REBECCA J. VIAGRANMayoral10/03/201305/31/2015
Ms. HAZEL L. CORLEYOther01/01/201212/31/2013
Mr. CHARLES E. ENGLISHOther01/01/201212/31/2013
Miss LAURIE GRUENBECKOther01/01/201212/31/2013
Mr. ELOY LAQUEOther01/07/200412/31/2013
Mr. JAMES LOWRYOther01/01/200612/31/2013
Ms. JENNIFER L. PRAEGEROther01/01/201112/31/2012
Ms. ANNA J. PRIETOOther01/01/201012/31/2013

Total Members for Community Action Advisory Board: 15 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version