Public Art Board

The Public Art Board, created on January 15, 2009, is comprised of seven (7) members nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council. The make-up of the board consists of: three (3) visual arts representatives (artist, professional, and patron); one (1) architect, landscape architect, or design professional; one (1) visual arts professor from a local college or university; one (1) local art and architecture historian or conservationist; and one (1) community and/or neighborhood representative. The Public Art Board has the primary responsibility and authority for developing and enhancing public art in San Antonio. Working with Public Art San Antonio, the Board provides public art education for the community, promotes public art, assists sponsors of public art by developing and proposing skilled local artists, reviews and approves applications to place art in public spaces, and advises the City Council about public art. Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of every month at 9:00 AM at PASA Studio (400 North Saint Mary’s Street, Suite 101). For more information, please go to

Liaison: Sarah Yates - (207) 207-6966

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Mr. RENE P. BARILLEAUXMayoral03/01/201205/31/2013
Ms. ALICE CARRINGTON FOULTZMayoral03/12/200905/31/2013
Mr. EDUARDO GARCIAMayoral03/12/200905/31/2013
Mr. GUILLERMO C. NICOLASMayoral03/12/200905/31/2013
Ms. PATTY ORTIZMayoral03/12/200905/31/2013
Mr. KENT T. RUSH (RESIGNED)Mayoral03/12/200905/31/2013
Ms. JESSICA R. SANCHEZMayoral03/01/201205/31/2013

Total Members for Public Art Board: 7 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version