Community Action Advisory Board

The Community Action Advisory Board is a federally mandated tripartite board comprised of 15 members as follows: • (5) Representatives of the Low Income Individuals and Families • (5) Representatives of Organizations • (5) Elected Officials to include 4 City Council Members appointed by the Mayor, and 1 County Commissioner appointed by the County Judge. The City of San Antonio, Department of Human Services (DHS) is the designated Community Action Agency and the Community Services Block Grant eligible entity for Bexar County. DHS has operated the Community Action Program (CAP) since 1979. The Community Action Advisory Board acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council on the operation of the Community Action Program, and oversees the extent and quality of services for low income individuals and families.

Liaison: Minerva Hernandez - (210) 207-4647

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Councilmember SHIRLEY GONZALESMayoral10/03/201305/31/2017
Councilmember RAY LOPEZMayoral10/03/201305/31/2017
Councilmember ROBERTO C. TREVINOMayoral06/01/201505/31/2017
Councilmember REBECCA J. VIAGRANMayoral10/03/201305/31/2017
Mr. JOHN ALVAREZOther01/01/201612/31/2017
Ms. ISA FERNANDEZOther01/01/201612/31/2017
Ms. HOLLY FRINDELLOther01/01/201612/31/2017
Ms. NORA LISA GONZALESOther01/01/201612/31/2017
Ms. GLADYS GONZALEZOther01/01/201512/31/2016
Ms. LAURIE GRUENBECKOther01/01/201212/31/2017
Dr. ANNE J. MATULAOther01/01/201312/31/2016
Commissioner SERGIO RODRIGUEZOther   
Ms. CHERYL WEISEOther01/01/201512/31/2016
Ms. SHEMEKA WOODSONOther09/01/201512/31/2016

Total Members for Community Action Advisory Board: 15 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version