Animal Care Services Advisory Board

The Animal Care Services Advisory Board (ACS) consists of 14 members. 11 of the members are appointed by the Mayor and each City Councilmember for two-year terms. The Health Director, Animal Care Services Director and City Manager or designees serve as ex-officio non-voting members of the Board. The ACS shall include among its membership at least one (1) licensed veterinarian; one (1) City Official; one (1) animal shelter operator; and one (1) representative from an animal welfare organization. The ACS will visit the animal care services facility of the City at times selected by the ACS, and inspect all phases of the facility. Board members shall have access to all areas of the animal care services facility for observation purposes only. The ACS meets at least three (3) times per year. Meetings are held bi-monthly on the third Wednesday of the month at the Animal Care Services Shelter which is located at 4710 State Highway 151. Meetings begin at 6:30 PM. For more information, please go to

Liaison: Maria Kieke - (210) 207-3338

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Mr. SEAMUS R. NELSONDistrict 102/18/201605/31/2017
Dr. SHANNON R. ESPYDistrict 205/04/200605/31/2011
Mr. GEORGE L. GARCIADistrict 304/14/201605/31/2017
Ms. RITA C. BRAEUTIGAMDistrict 402/12/201505/31/2017
Ms. KAREN L. SPEERDistrict 501/31/201305/31/2017
Mrs. VIRGINIA M. BROWNDistrict 611/21/201305/31/2017
Mrs. VALERIE L. MOOREDistrict 701/14/201605/31/2017
Ms. MONA R. THAXTONDistrict 809/03/200905/31/2017
Ms. DEBRA L. INNOCENTIDistrict 903/31/201605/31/2017
Ms. SALLIE F. SCOTTDistrict 1004/17/200805/31/2017
Mr. MICHAEL SHANNONMayoral03/31/201605/31/2017

Total Members for Animal Care Services Advisory Board: 11 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version